What I’ve Learned in 5 Years of Marriage

I think we misunderstand the fairytales sometimes and we overthink love. Love is easy. It’s the simplicity of being crazy in love with someone and not even understanding it. From the beginning of a relationship when you just know. That’s what we had. And we still do. I get excited to see his face after a long day of not seeing him. It excites me to see him looking at me with admiration and love. It warms my heart to see how God placed him in my life. Each day isn’t easy. The love is easy but the days are complicated sometimes.

  

Today marks a very special day for me. It was on this day – 4/8 – ten years ago that my husband asked me to be his girlfriend. Since then I’ve realized just how much I could love someone despite our differences. I’ve learned that being married means you walk through life together with an imperfect human that loves your imperfections and you learn to love theirs.  I have seen how special that someone can be and how they affect every decision and every move we make. 

My husband drives me crazy. We are two people who are highly emotional and we always want to be right. In marriage I’ve learned that respect is the best thing you can have. That being right isn’t always best. And my ultimate takeaway in the past five years of marriage- just suck it up and admit when you are wrong. What keeps us together is our friendship. We love each other and we aren’t afraid to tell each other how we feel. We have bumps and we have triumps, but we are open, we are candid, and we are real. I have a lot to learn still but I know one thing that’s certain: marrying your best friend is the best thing you could do. 

So as I look back upon the past ten years with a smile on my face I also remember that in two days we celebrate a five year anniversary of marriage. I pray the next five years are just as fun and that we learn even more about each other along the way. My husband is my biggest cheerleader. He pushes me in ways I need, he encourages me when I’m down and above all he believes in my dreams.  

“You are my best friend as well as my lover and I do not know which side of you I enjoy the most. I treasure each side, just as I have treasured our life together” -Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook 

Love,

Quinley 

Leave a Reply

